• New Delhi (01.12.2020): Sanjeeva Kumar (lAS:1986:AM) was on Tuesday given the additional charge of the post of Member (Finance), Space Commission, Earth Commission, and Atomic Energy Commission. Presently, Sanjeeva Kumar is Secretary, Department of Border Management, Ministry of Home Affairs.

  • New Delhi (30.11.2020): Tuhin Kanta Pandey (IAS:1987:OR) has been given the additional charge of the post of Secretary, Ministry of Corporate Affairs during the period of absence on leave of Rajesh Verma (IAS:1987:OR).

    Presently, Pandey is Secretary, Department of Investment and Public Asset Management (DIPAM).

  • New Delhi (30.11.2020): Utpal Kumar Singh (Retd IAS:1986:UD) will be the new Secretary-General, Lok Sabha and Lok Sabha Secretariat on a contract basis in the rank and status of Cabinet Secretary for a period of one year beginning 01 December 2020.

    He will continue as SG of the Lower House of the Parliament till 30 November 2021 or until further orders, whichever is earlier. Currently, Singh is working as Secretary, Lok Sabha Secretariat. Prior to this, he was Chief Secretary, Govt of Uttarakhand.

    UK Singh replaces Mrs Snehlata Shrivastava (Retd IAS:1982:MP) whose extended term as Secretary-General, Lok Sabha, and Lok Sabha Secretariat ends today. Her term of the contract as SG was extended on 28.11.2019 for a period ending 30.11.2020.

    Further, Snehlata Srivastava was appointed an Honorary Officer of the House (Lok Sabha) with effect from 01 December 2020. It may be underlined that as per the rule and convention Secretary-General is designated as Honorary Officer of the House (Lok Sabha) after completion of their term.

  • New Delhi (27.11.2020): Ravindra Kumar Jain (IRSE) was on Thursday appointed as Managing Director of Dedicated Freight Corridor of India Limited (DFCCIL) on an absorption basis till his superannuation i.e. 31.07.20224. Presently, he is Chief Administrative Officer (Construction) Eastern Railway.

    It may be mentioned that the public-sector headhunter had selected him for the top job for the post on 01 July 2020 - exactly a month ahead of the retirement of MD Anurag Sachan (IRSE:1981).


    DFCCIL MD and GM Railways: Inordinate delay makes buzz

  • New Delhi (27.11.2020): Arun Singh Rawat (IFS:1986:JK) was on 27.11.2020 appointed as to the post of Director General (DG) Indian Council of Forestry Research & Education (ICFRE), Dehradun on deputation basis till his date of superannuation i.e. 30.09.2023. Presently, he is Director, Forest Research Institute, Dehradun.

  • New Delhi (27.11.2020): The NaMo administration on Friday cleared the appointment of Ms. Soma Mondal to the post of Chairman, Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL) till her superannuation i.e. 30.04.2023. Presently, she is the Director (Commercial). The public-sector headhunter had selected her for the top job on 10.08.2020.

    As the first woman Chairperson of SAIL, she will take over from A K Chaudhary who is retiring on 31 December 2020.


    A talking point in CPSEs: Two women for Board level positions in quick succession

  • New Delhi (27.11.2020): Rahul Naveen (IRS IT:1993) was on Friday appointed as Special Director in the Enforcement Directorate for a period of 05 years.

    He is working as Officer on Special Duty, Enforcement Directorate,  since November 2019. Earlier, he worked as Additional Director and Course Director, 63rd Batch of Indian Revenue Service.

  • New (27.11.2020): Dr Molishree (IES:2011) was on Friday appointed as Deputy Secretary in the Department of Economic Affairs for a period of four years.

The hero of the Battle of Dograi (1965)

BBC Hindi on Amit Shah !

Charles Groenhuijsen On Journalism

BBC on UPA Regime: PM, Party and Position

free stat counter