Must Read

CBDT: Gupta tipped as Member, Administration?

By - 10 Jan 2020


If some top sources are to be Satish Kumar Gupta (IRS IT:1984) may be picked up for the post of Member, Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT); a post (Member, Administration) which fell vacant after the retirement of Ms Neena Kumar (IRS IT:1982). Presently, Gupta is Principal Chief Commissioner Income Tax (PCCIT), Mumbai Region.

The post, vacant vice Mrs Neena Kumar, was advertised in the second week of November 2019. Interestingly, it is believed CBDT wanted to widen the net for the appointment of members by inviting applications from relatively younger officers in rank of Principal Commissioner and above.

Presently, the posts of Member, Administration and Member Investigation are lying vacant but the later is not on offer as the post appears to have been attached to Chairman, CBDT for a couple of years. Gopal Mukherjee was the last Member (Investigation) who retired in January 2018.

free stat counter, an initiative of New Media Network, is a multi-media initiative for the fast and real-time dissemination of news and information related to civil services, central PSUs and other institutions that play a critical role in governance, administration, corporate governance, and public life in India. We aspire to provide our esteemed readers with news breaks and situation analysis in the above-mentioned domain of operations. Currently, we are available at We are now planning to branch off into print publication and few other related business initiatives.