Must Read

CBDT: Work distribution among three new members effected

By IndianMandarins- 13 Nov 2018


Indianmandarins has reliably learnt that work-allocation has been effected in the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), the apex policy making authority of the Income Tax department. As per the allocation of work Ms Neena Kumar (IRS:1982) will be Member, Revenue & Tax Payers Service; Prasana Kumar Dash (IRS:1982) will be Member, Audit & Judicial whereas Akhilesh Ranjan (IRS:1982) will be Member, Legislation.


Ms Kumar has been assigned with the crucial task of revenue collection and TPS. It may be underlined that two separate directorates –Directorate of Tax Payer Services I (TPS-I) and Directorate of Tax Payer Services II (TPS-II) were set up in year 2016. Member (Revenue and Tax payer services) in the CBDT oversees and co-ordinates all matters relating to grievances of taxpayers and ensure their timely redressal.


NaMo administration had, a day ahead of Deepawali, cleared the appointment of CBDT members.


Despite these new appointments, there is still a vacancy of one Member in the apex body of the I-T department. Reportedly, the charge of I-T investigations will continue to remain with Sushil Chandra, CBDT Chairman. I-T Investigation is usually handled by a separate Member in CBDT and there have been only few instances in the past when the CBDT chief holds this responsibility.

free stat counter