Must Read

CBDT: From 01 August two retired IRS officers to run the show

By IndianMandarins- 27 Jul 2020


From August 01 the command of CBDT will be in the hands of two retired IRS officers Pramod Chandra Mody (Retd IRS IT:1982) as Chairman and Sushil Kumar Gupta (IRS IT:1984) as Member. Mody’s extended term of the contract (on re-appointment) ends on 31.08.2020. Keeping in view the established trend it is being speculated that Mody may get another extension who has been handling the key instrument i.e. Investigation as an additional charge. Even though he was heard saying that he wants to conclude his career but such assertions are never so straight and innocent.  

It is not surprising that two Member posts that were expected to be filled by August were delayed as an extension to S K Gupta was expected to be formalized.     

It may be mentioned that the other two Members Mrs Seema Khorana Patra (IRS IT:1983) and Prabhash Shankar (IRS IT:1983) will be retiring in November 2020 and January 2021 respectively whereas Krishan Mohan Prasad (IRS IT:1984) has a term of service till August 2021.

free stat counter