Must Read

Cabinet Secretary Sinha tipped to become NITI Aayog member

By IndianMandarins- 26 Aug 2019


New Delhi: Indianmandarins has reliably learnt that outgoing Cabinet Secretary P K Sinha (IAS:1977:UP) is being drafted as Member NITI Aayog. Reportedly, his room is being furbished at NITI Aayog which has gathered momentum following the appointment of Rajiv Gauba as his successor last week.


Having played a crucial role in running the affairs under NaMo administration and in the implementation and coordination of Aspirational Districts and the ongoing Jal Shakti Abhiyan (including several others) P K Sinha’s next assignment (post-retirement) would be seen as NaMo administrations’ master stroke. It also would prove to be NaMo administration’s balancing act for NITI which earlier witnessed several unceremonious top level exits and faced unwarranted instability.


With an objective of achieving sustainable development goals and enhancing cooperative federalism NITI (National Institution for Transforming India) Aayog  was established in 2015 by the Modi government replacing the Planning Commission. It is considered a policy ‘Think Tank’ of the Government of India.


Presently, Dr Rajiv Kumar is VC whereas Dr V K Saraswat, Dr Vinod Kumar Paul and Ramesh Chand are temporary members. P K Sinha would be the fourth temporary Member of NITI Aayog.  


The PM is the Ex-officio chairman whereas CMs of every State are permanent members of the governing council including Delhi CM and LGs of UTs. Vice chairman is nominated by the Prime Minister.

free stat counter