Must Read

Will R K Mishra be next CBI Director?

By IndianMandarins- 23 Jan 2019


Tomorrow, PM Narendra Modi, CJI Ranjan Gogoi, and Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge will be the center of media focus as they have to pick up an officer to head the CBI. Their selection may set the headlines for a day or two.


Even as shortlisted officers are waiting with bated breath for the final announcement tomorrow, it looks as if the 1984 batch IPS may have an upper hand in cornering the job.

CISF DG Rajesh Ranjan (IPS:1984:BH) is seen to have good prospects but NIA chief Y C Modi (IPS:1984:AM) is seen as a stronger contender. In fact, Y C Modi appears the most logical, convincing & natural claimant of the top job. However, if BSF DG Rajni Kant Mishra (IPS:1984:UP) emerges as the foremost choice of the establishment, it won't be a surprise.


Sources believe that candidates from 1982 and 1983 batches too will be considered for the job with many credible and competent names like Parminder R R Bhatnagar (IPS:1983:UP), Ms Rina Mitra (IPS:1983:MP), S Javeed Ahmed (IPS:1984:UP), S S deswal (IPS:1984:HY), Rai (IPS:1982:HY), Sudeep Lakhtakia (IPS:1984:AP) and others.


It is pointed out that though unanimity among the three members of the search committee has been rare, the committee does make an attempt at a consensus. It may be recalled that Prakash Mishra (1977) was said to have been the first and foremost choice of the newly formed NDA Govt in 2014 but an Odisha Govt’s vigilance case (which was later turned down by the Delhi HC) ruined his chances and then CJI H L Dattu pushed Anil Kumar Sinha’s (1979) name. This time too Mallikarjun Kharge may sing his own tune and CJI Ranjan Gogoi and the Prime Minister may land on the same page while selecting a new CBI Director.


Ahead of 2019 LS polls, it is of utmost priority for the CBI to stay clear of the noises and restore its ruined glory.

free stat counter