Must Read

Next CIC: Sinha leads the trail amid 92 applications

By IndianMandarins- 18 Sep 2020


Though it may take a couple of weeks in the selection of the next Chief Information Commissioner (CIC), Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha (Retd IFS:1981) is said have been leading the trail amid 92 applicants aspiring to become CIC; a post that fell vacant after Bimal Julka (Retd IAS:1979:MP) completed his term on 26 August 2020.

Central Information Commission (CIC), the transparency watchdog, has been functioning without a chief after Julka retired. Currently, CIC is working with a reduced strength of six information commissioners, against the sanctioned strength of 11 (including the CIC). Another, IC post will fall vacant with the retirement of Divya Prakash Sinha (Retd IPS:1979:MT) on 25 September 2020. Effectively, there is a vacancy of five more information commissioners (ICs) at the commission, if one counts D P Sinha’s term ending on 25 September.

free stat counter