Must Read

Who will be next CVC?

By IndianMandarins- 04 Apr 2019


The process of selecting the next Central Vigilance Commissioner has been initiated as incumbent K V Chowdary may retire in June after completing his four-year tenure. Vigilance Commissioner T M Bhasin will also complete his tenure in the same month. So, a replacement for him, too, has to be found.


The other member of the commission is former chief of National Investigation Agency (NIA) Sharad Kumar who still has time in his favor.


The Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) consists of a Central Vigilance Commissioner and two Vigilance Commissioners.


According to a notification issued by the Personnel Ministry seeking applications for the posts, those interested will have to write a 300-word write-up to indicate their suitability for the post and send an application to the Personnel Ministry.


They shall hold the office for a term of four years from the date on which they enter the office or till they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.


The notification said, "All the applicants should be of outstanding merit and impeccable integrity and should have a knowledge and at least 25 years of experience in the relevant field."


A Central Vigilance Commissioner or Vigilance Commissioner is appointed from persons who have been or are in an all India services (IAS, IPS and IFoS) or in any civil service of the Union or in a civil post having knowledge and experience in the matters relating to vigilance, policy-making and administration including police administration among others. Besides, a person who has held an office or is holding an office in a corporation established by or under any Central Act or a Government company owned or controlled by the central government and persons who have expertise and experience in finance including insurance and banking, law, vigilance and investigations are also eligible for the appointments.


The last date for sending an application to the ministry is May 1.

free stat counter