Must Read

Who comes next: IB, RAW Chiefs, NITI CEO and two secretaries to retire soon

By IndianMandarins- 06 Jun 2019


Ahead of PMO’s decision on appointments to several top positions power corridors appear to be curious over the likely exit of several officers due for superannuation and completion of extended tenure by the end of this month. The decks thus poised to be clear will also bring several takers who may already be waiting in the queue. Among the retiring officials are Amitabh Kant, Rajeev Jain, A K Dhasmana and Raghavendra Singh.


Currently Amitabh Kant (IAS:1980:KL) is CEO of NITI Aayog but he is completing his extended tenure on 30 June 2019. He is widely expected to emerge as a dark horse for some coveted post again.


A K Dhasmana (IPS:1981:MP) is the Chief of R&AW. He is going to complete extended tenure on 28 June 2019. And so is the case of Rajeev Jain (IPS:1982:JH), Chief of Intelligence Bureau. He is set to complete the extended tenure on 29 June 2019. 

Raghavendra Singh (IAS:1983:WB), Secretary, Ministry of Textiles, will be retiring on 30 June 2019.


In addition, the terms of Nripendra Mishra (Principal Secretary to PM) and Dr P K Misra (Additional PS to PM) are (technically) over though it is expected that NaMo administration may redraft them into same positions or may be with some suitable alteration soon this week.


Cabinet Secretary PK Sinha (IAS:1977:UP) too is expected to complete his extended term next week. And, thus, with so many top slots falling vacant all eyes are upon the PMO that is believed to have set the process of crucial selections rolling.

free stat counter