Must Read

Sinha, Ibrahim drafted into NSAB

By IndianMandarins- 02 Jan 2019


Former Ambassador to Afghanistan and Tajikistan Amar Sinha and former IB chief Asif Ibrahim have been drafted into the National Security Advisory Board (NSAB)  as its members.


The appointment of former R&AW officer Tilak Deveshwar as a NSAB member is also said to be on the cards. Former R&AW official A B Mathur, Lt Gen (retd) S L Narasimhan and Prof Bimal N Patel of Gujarat National Law University are the other members of the board.


Former Ambassador to Russia PS Raghavan who was inducted in June this year may continue to head the NSAB.


The NDA government has significantly reduced the composition of the NSAB to just half a dozen members including the Chairman, while the previous NSAB headed by former Foreign Secretary Shyam Saran had 14 members. The new NSAB may have a two-year tenure.


The first NSAB was set up in 1998 with K Subrahmanyam as its convener. Earlier, the NSAB consisted of senior retired officials, academics and distinguished members of civil society having expertise in internal and external security, foreign affairs, defence, science and technology and economic affairs.


Now its composition stands changed and includes chiefly retired civil servants and military officers.


The National Security Council is the apex body in a three-tier structure headed by the Prime Minister and with the National Security Adviser as its Secretary. The Strategic Policy Group which was earlier chaired by the Cabinet Secretary is now chaired by NSA Ajit Doval. This is the first expansion after Doval took charge of the SPG which consists of senior officials responsible for policy-making and for follow up action in matters concerning national security.


The SPG includes the Chiefs of the Armed Forces, Intelligence Bureau and the Research and Analysis Wing. Its main task is to make policy recommendations to the National Security Council. 

free stat counter