Must Read

Punjab under AAP gets maximum number of DGPs ever

By IndianMandarins- 24 Jan 2023


Chandigarh (24.01.2023): The Punjab government promoted seven additional director generals of police (ADGPs) to the rank of director generals of police (DGPs) taking the count to 13, which is an all-time high in the state. Punjab had 12 DGPs in 2017.
Seven 1993-batch IPS officers promoted on January 23, 2023 include ADGP community affairs division (CAD) and women affairs Gurpreet Deo, chief director vigilance bureau Varinder Kumar, ADGP human resource development Ishwar Singh, ADGP PSPCL Jitendra Kumar Jain, ADGP policy and rules Satish Kumar Asthana, ADGP Railways Shashi Prabha Dwivedi and ADGP internal security RN Dhoke. ADGP law and order Arpit Shukla is the only 1993-batch IPS officer whose promotion has been deferred due to a case in the Punjab and Haryana high court.
Four DGP rank officers — Samant Goyal (IPS: 1984: PB) (RAW chief), Dinkar Gupta (IPS: 1984: PB) (NIA chief), Parag Jain (IPS: 1989: PB)  (additional secretary), Harpreet Sidhu (IPS: 1992: PB) -- are on central deputation. VK Bhawra (IPS: 1987: PB)  (chairman, Punjab Police Housing Corporation), Prabodh Kumar (IPS: 1988: PB)  (DGP human rights), Sanjeev Kalra (IPS: 1989: PB)  (special DGP home guards), Sharad Satya Chauhan (IPS: 1992: PB)  (MD Punjab Police Housing Corporation), Gaurav Yadav (IPS: 1992: PB)  (acting DGP) and Kuldeep Singh (special DGP STF against drugs) are serving in the state.

free stat counter