Must Read

Does CVC prefer Indian Railway Services most for CVO positions?

By IndianMandarins- 12 Feb 2024


New Delhi (12.02.2024): Data analysis relating to the appointment of CVOs in Central PSUs, ministries & departments suggests that the anti-corruption watchdog in India (CVC) prefers Indian Railways Service cadres most as anti-corruption watchdog.

The Centre on last Friday cleared appointment of over a dozen of officers to the post of Chief Vigilance Officer (CVO) in various Central PSUs and ministries wherein giving a clear edge to Indian Railways services officers. Out of twelve appointments as many as four CVOs belong to ITS, IRS IT, IP&TA&FS and IOFS and rest of all belong to Indian Railway Service Cadre (CLICK for Complete List).

Over a period of time numerous insiders have told Indianmandarins that as compared to other service, eight services functioning under Indian Railways have a clear edge over others. It is assumed that the anti-corruption watchdog in India (CVC) considers Indian Railways a living example of ground operations and management of capital-intensive projects across geographical diversity and climatic zones making its officials insightful enough as watchdogs. Certainly, officials belonging to IPS, IFoS, ITS, IRS and other cadre play equally important role as CVO across organisations yet eight services functioning under Indian Railways have a clear edge over others for CVO posts. Supporting the insider view, data also reveals that IAS officers are less preferred for CVO posts or vice versa.   

The latest tranche of appointment of CVOs effected last Friday    

  • Aprajita Sharrma (IP&TA&FS: 1995) as CVO, Central Warehousing Corporation (CWC)
  • Somanath Shivarudrappa Ukkali (IRS IT: 2004) as CVO, HMT Ltd (Bengaluru)
  • Pramod Kumar (ITS: 1996) as CVO, Dedicated Freight Corridor Corp of India Ltd (DFCCIL)
  • Abhishek Ranjan (IOFS: 2008) as CVO, Garden Reach Shipbuilders & Engineers Ltd (GRSE), Kolkata
  • Vivek Kumar Singh (IRSEE: 2005) as CVO, CBSE
  • Vipin Kumar Singh (IRTS: 2009) as CVO, National Cooperative’s Consumer Federation (NCCF)
  • Akanksha Sharma (IRSS: 2007) as CVO, National Handlooms Development Corporation Ltd (NHDC) & Central Cottage Industries Corporation of India Ltd (CCIC)
  • Pradeep Kumar (IRSE Civil: 2001) as CVO, Minerals Exploration & Consultancy Ltd (MECL)
  • Vineet Gupta (IRSEE: 1994) as CVO, HUDCO
  • Satish Kumar (IRSE Civil: 1997) as CVO, MECON Ltd (Ranchi)
  • Bijay Kumar (IRTS: 1998) as CVO, Indian Telephone Industries Ltd (Bengaluru)
  • Ashok Kumar (IRSS: 1997) as CVO, Department of Telecommunications


Appointments & Recommendations (GoI) on 09.02.2024  

free stat counter