Must Read

R K Tyagi takes over as Director (Operations), POWERGRID

By IndianMandarins- 12 Aug 2022


New Delhi (12.08.2022): Ravindra Kumar Tyagi on Friday (12.08.2022) took over the charge of the post of Director (Operations) at Power Grid Corporation of India Limited (PGCIL). PESB had selected him for the post on April 29, 2022. He replaced Mrs. Seema Gupta who retired as Director (Operations) on May 31, 2022. 
Tyagi has a work experience of over 32 years in the Power Transmission System and also has over 26 years of experience in the Operation and Maintenance (O&M) of Substations and Transmission lines at various key positions in premier CPSUs in the power sector such as the POWERGRID and NTPC. 
A Fulbright Scholar from Carnegie Mellon University, Pennsylvania, US he has handled multi-disciplinary functions in various business segments of POWERGRID like Asset Management, Engineering, Business Development (domestic & abroad), Telecom, Load Despatch & Communication, NTAMC, Safety, DMS etc.  
Before joining as Director Operations Power Grid Corporation of India Limited he was the Executive Director (North Eastern Region) in POWERGRID and has handled functions of Project Execution, Asset Management, Finance, Commercial and various other regional functions. 
An Electrical Engineer from Punjab Engineering College (P.E.C.), Chandigarh he went on to complete his M.(Tech) in Energy Studies from IIT Delhi. 
Tyagi has been instrumental in representing India on many international technical committees for preparing various Technical Standards and is an author of more than 50 technical papers which have been presented at National and International conferences.  
Recently conferred the prestigious 1906 Award in 2022 for his exceptional contribution to the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) TC 122 towards the development of IEC 63042 - UHV AC transmission systems Tyagi was also honoured with the CIGRE Paris Award as a Distinguished member for the development of Technical Standards in the field of Transmission System in the Year 2018.
The alumnus of IIT Delhi, Tyagi is also Chairperson of CIGRE National Study Committee C3 (Power System Environmental Performance), an Indian representative in various International CIGRE study groups on Power Transformers(A2) and Transmission & Distribution Equipment(A3). 
He is also a Member of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) TC122 (Standardization in the field of AC transmission for voltages exceeding 800kV) & IEC TC123 (Standardization of asset management practices in Power networks), Member of MT36 - representing India for preparation of International Standard, IEC62271-100 on EHV Circuit Breakers, Chairperson of BIS Committee ETD53 on Standardization of the management of assets and member of ETD48 on UHVAC Transmission System.

free stat counter