Must Read

Four states get new Governors, Kalraj Mishra shifted to Rajasthan

By IndianMandarins- 01 Sep 2019


The Modi government has appointed four new governors while Himachal Pradesh governor Kalraj Mishra has been shifted to Rajasthan to replace Kalyan Singh. But the most surprising name in the list has been the name of former Union home minister Arif Mohammad Khan as the governor of Kerala.


Arif Mohammad Khan has been the crusader of reform in Islam and resigned from the Rajiv Gandhi government and the Congress on the issue of Shah Bano. He has been constantly fighting against misinterpretation of Islam and wrong practices like triple talaq. Baghat Singh Koshiyari is the former chief minister of Uttarakhand and has been appointed as Maharashtra governor.


Two southern leaders, former Union labour minister Bandaru Dattatreya and Tamil Nadu leader Tamilisai Soundararajan have been appointed as governor of Himachal Pradesh and Telengana respectively. Dattatreya did not contest Lok Sabha elction in 2019 while Soundararajan was defeated by the DMK leader M K Kanimozhi.

free stat counter