Must Read

Deo seen as preferred DGP candidate of Haryana

By IndianMandarins- 22 Jan 2019


Prabhat Ranjan Deo (IPS:1986:HY), director of state vigilance bureau, is said to have emerged as the frontrunner for the post of Haryana DGP in a list of 10 officers to be sent to the UPSC for selection. Since he is due to retire on September 30, 2020, his selection as the state DGP, if it materializes, may not disturb the pecking order of the state police. He belongs to the 1986 batch IPS.


Indianmandarins has learned that along with the names of DG rank officers, the Haryana government may also send names of ADGP rank officers like ADGP (crime) PK Aggarwal, ADGP (law and order) Muhammad Akil, ADGP Ambala range R C Mishra and ADGP Manoj Yadava posted as joint director in Union home ministry.  Aggarwal and Yadava are from the 1988 batch, while Akil and Mishra from 1989 batch.


Among the DG rank officers figure the names of SS Deswal and a few others. Deswal, a 1984 batch officer, is the director general of SSB. He is due to retire on August 31, 2021.

K P Singh, a 1985-batch officer, posted as DG in Haryana Human Rights Commission, has already served one term as DG but was shifted out allegedly following the differences with speaker Kanwar Pal Gujjar. The government had termed the transfer as an administrative exercise.


Next to Singh are 1986 batch officers B K Sinha, K K Sindhu, and P R Deo. Sinha is posted as IRB Bhondsi and is due to retire on September 30 this year. Sindhu is DG PTS Madhuban. He is due to retire on August 31, 2021.


K K Mishra is the only 1987 batch officer in the list. Currently, posted as ADGP crime, Mishra is due to retire on June 30, 2020. 

free stat counter