A K succeeds A K; UP gets new DGP within 31 days

A K Jain IPS UP 1979

Arvind Kumar Jain (IPS:1979:UP) has been appointed as new DGP of Uttar Pradesh. He succeeds Arun Kumar Gupta (IPS:1977:UP) in the chair and marks as fifth DGP in three years long regime of Akhilesh Yadav as CM. The outgoing DGP A K Gupta held the top position for 31 days whereas A K Jain will hold the position for 59 days.

UP Government had moved the proposal for three months extension to A K Gupta but in an extra ordinary development the matter was put on hold paving the way for Jain to lead as the top cop of UP.