Must Read

Eight HCs to get new Chief Justices, five HC CJs to be transferred

By IndianMandarins- 21 Sep 2021


New Delhi (21.09.2021): The Supreme Court Collegium, headed by Chief Justice of India NV Ramana, has recommended the names for Chief Justice posts in thirteen High Courts across the country. Of thirteen names eight puisne judges have been recommended for elevation as new chief justices of various High Courts whereas five chief justices have been recommended for transfer to other High Courts. The collegium’s decision is the outcome of the meeting held on September 16.

The Chief Justices recommended for transfer to other High Court are:

  1. Justice Biswanath Somadder - Meghalaya to Sikkim
  2. Justice Mohammad Rafiq - Madhya Pradesh to Himachal Pradesh
  3. Justice Indrajit Mahanty - Rajasthan to Tripura
  4. Justice Akil Kureshi - Tripura to Rajasthan
  5. Justice Arup Kumar Goswami - Andhra Pradesh to Chhattisgarh

The eight puisne judges recommended for appointment to various High Courts as Chief Justices are:

  1. Justice Ranjit V More - Meghalaya
  2. Justice Rajesh Bindal - Allahabad
  3. Justice RV Malimath - Madhya Pradesh
  4. Justice Satish Chandra Sharma - Telangana
  5. Justice Ritu Raj Awasthi - Karnataka
  6. Justice Aravind Kumar - Gujarat
  7. Justice Prakash Shrivastava - Calcutta
  8. Justice PK Mishra - Andhra Pradesh

It may further be underlined that the SC Collegium had in August recommended as many as nine judges for appointment to the Supreme Court thereby taking the working strength of the Supreme Court from 24 to 33.

free stat counter