UP to get new DGP shortly; 03 join the race as front runners

A K Gupta, UP DGP

A K Gupta (IPS:1977), Outgoing DGP, UP

March 31 has set the cut off date for the selection of new DGP of UP. As many as three IPS officers are reported to have been in the race as front runners namely; Vijay Kumar Gupta (IPS:UP:1982), Praveen Singh (IPS:UP:1982) and Jagmohan Yadav (IPS:UP:1983).

Arun Kumar Gupta (IPS:1977:UP), the incumbent DGP of UP is completing his extended tenure on March 31. Gupta had taken over from Anand Lal Banerjee (IPS:1979:UP) on December 31, 2014 and had further been extension for three months ending March 31, 2015.