NEWS No post-poll alliance with BSP or any party in UP: Amit Shah
NEWS AAI pays Rs 560 cr to govt as interim dividend
NEWS Coal scam: Court allows Naveen Jindal to travel abroad
NEWS Benami assets: I-T books 230 cases
NEWS Kin of rail mishap victim to get Rs 30 lakh compensation
NEWS Cattle haats along Bangla border a source of smuggling : BSF
NEWS TDS default: I-T dept issues over 850 prosecution notices
NEWS Uproar in Guj Assembly as Cong MLA questions KG Basin spend
NEWS Poaching menace: Shoot-at-sight orders at Corbett reserve
NEWS No plans to introduce Rs 1,000 notes: Says Govt
NEWS China extends invitation to WB CM Mamata Banerjee
NEWS Economic blockade will not impact Manipur poll process: CEC
NEWS Poaching menace: Shoot-at-sight orders at Corbett reserve
NEWS Guidelines needed for rehabilitation of mentally ill:SC
NEWS 4th phase polling in UP on 23 Feb: 12 districts, 53 Assembly seats
NEWS S Liezietsu sworn in as Nagaland CM
NEWS Telangana CM offers Rs 5cr gold ornaments to Lord Venkateswara
NEWS Islamic court legalises ‘test tube babies’ in Pakistan
NEWS NASA telescope detects possible dark matter signals
NEWS Flat buyers can directly approach NCDRC: SC
NEWS Amnesty International criticises India’s sedition law
NEWS India can develop space station, says ISRO chief

Category Archives: Appointments & Selections

Latest appointment orders (GoI): Updated @ 03.00 pm

Anuj Kumar Bishnoi (IAS:1981:UP) has been given the additional charge of Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs from 24 Feb 2017 to 04 Mar 2017 during the absence of Rajiv Yadav (IAS:1981:AM). (Updated: 03.00 pm, 23 February 2017) ———————————————————————————————————————————————————— Jitendra Shankar Mathur (IAS:1982:MP) has been the additional charge of Secretary, Drinking…

UPSC gets two new members

As reported first by Indianmandarins on 17th Feb 2017 (web link below), Ms. Sujata Mehta (IFS:1980) is finally appointed as Member, UPSC. In addition, Air Marshal Ajit S Bhonsle (AVSM, VSM), too, has been appointed as UPSC Member. Ms. Mehta served as Secretary (West), Ministry of External Affairs whereas Air…

Kumar replaces Kumar as Mines Secretary

The government on Tuesday announced the name of the successor to the outgoing Union Mines Secretary Balvender Kumar (IAS:1981: UP) who is retiring on 28th of this month. Arun Kumar (lAS:1983: AM), Special Secretary, Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment, will succeed Balvender Kumar on March 01, 2017. Arun Kumar…

Posts of three IAS officers scaled up to secretary rank 

The career of three IAS officers belonging to 1983 batch shot up on Tuesday. The post of Binoy Kumar (IAS:1983: TG) is temporarily upgraded to the Secretary rank for a period of two years. Currently, he serves as DG, Directorate General of Supplies & Disposals (DGS&D), Ministry of Commerce &…

Ajay Tyagi is new SEBI Chairman

Ajay Tyagi (IAS:1984:HP) has been picked as new Chairman of Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) for a period of five years or till the age of 65 yrs. Currently he serves as Additional Secretary, Dept of Economic Affairs. He will take over the charge from U K Sinha…

Bhargava appointed MD, LIC

Hemant Bhargava (LIC’s Zonal Manager, Delhi) was today appointed as Managing Director of State-owned Life insurer LIC till his superannuation on 31 July 2019. The top LIC management consists of the Chairman and three Managing Directors. Earlier Bhargava too was in race for Chairman post of LIC. It may be…

Nine names recommended as HC chief justices

The Supreme Court collegium headed by Chief Justice of India J S Khehar is said to have recommended nine names to the government for appointment as regular High Court chief justices. If cleared by the government, this could be the highest number of appointments of chief justices made at once….

Shashi Shekhar tipped as Prasar Bharti CEO?

  Indianmandarins has reliably learned that Shashi Shekhar (Retd IAS:1981: TN) may shortly be named as Prasar Bharti CEO. The post fell vacant in February last year following the resignation of Jawahar Sircar (Retd IAS:1975: WB). Until 03 February, the interim charge of CEO was with Member (Personnel) Suresh Chandra…

Major bureaucratic reshuffle in Rajasthan

Vasundhara Raje Govt last night affected a major administrative reshuffle that includes 07 IAS officers, 03 IPS officers and approx 220 officers belonging to state administrative service. Among the transferred IAS officers are Ram Niwas, Kailash Chand Meena, Bhawati Prasad Kalal, N. Sriprasad Madan, Dr Vikram Jindal, Gaurav Agarwal and…

Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India gets three Whole Time Members

The Appointment Committee of the Cabinet on 03 February cleared the appointment of Dr. Mukulita Vijayawargiya, Dr. Navrang Saini and Ms. Suman Saxena as Whole Time Members of Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India (IBBI). They will continue till the attainment of 65 yrs age and will draw consolidated salary…

Vikram Limaye appointed NSE MD&CEO

  The NSE Board has selected Vikram Limaye as MD & CEO. The announcement was made after the board of directors of NSE, chaired by former finance secretary Ashok Chawla, met in Mumbai to vet the decision. The panel also had M&M group chairman Anand Mahindra, former RBI deputy governor…

Eastern Army Commander to stay

Indianmandarins has learnt that Eastern Army commander Lt General Praveen Bakshi will continue in service and rejoin duty at Kolkata soon. Superseded for the post of Army chief when the government chose General Bipin Rawat, Lt General Bakshi will also attend the Combined Commanders Conference to be chaired by the…

CCL CMD gets fresh lease of life

Gopal Singh has got a fresh lease of life in an extension of his services as Chairman and Managing Director of Central Coalfields Limited. He was scheduled to complete his tenure on 28 February 2017. Having got the extension, Singh will continue as CMD of CIL up to 31 January 2021….

Gairola & Swain get ADG post MOEF&CC

  Dr Suresh Chandra Gairola (IFoS:1982:MH) has been appointed as Additional Director General (Wild Life) in the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change; a post had fallen vacant after Vinod Ranjan’s repatriation to J&K. Similarly, Dr Debabrata Swain (IFoS:1984:OR) has been appointed as Additional Director General, Forest (Project Tiger)…

Justice Singh appointed AFT chairperson

Virender Singh, former Chief Justice of the Jharkhand High Court, has been appointed as chairperson of the Principal Bench of the Armed Forces Tribunal (AFT), New Delhi. As of now, only 07 out of the total 17 benches of the AFT are functional across the country. Justice Virender Singh is…

Haryana admin rejigged again

  The Haryana administration has been rejigged again. Bhupinder Singh, who has been functioning as director and special secretary of Agriculture has been appointed as deputy principal secretary to the CM, eight IAS officers have been shifted, while five have been given the additional charge. In the CMO, there were…

RBI appoints new ED for financial inclusion

The Reserve Bank of India has appointed Surekha Marandi as Executive Director. Marandi will look after consumer education and protection department, financial inclusion and development department. Prior to her promotion as Executive Director, Marandi served as Principal Chief General Manager and Chief Vigilance Officer in the Reserve Bank over a…

Latest DOPT orders: 03 Jan 2017 (02:00 pm)

Ravindra Kumar Jain, Principal Commissioner of Income Tax has been empanelled for promotion to the grade of Chief Commissioner of Income Tax

Ranjan concurrently accredited as Ambassador Uruguay

Sanjiv Ranjan (IFS: 1993), presently serving as Ambassador of India to Argentina has been concurrently accredited as the Ambassador of India to the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, with residence in Buenos Aires (Argentina). He will take up his new assignment shortly.